News & Events


 “What’s our role making sure we have a living democracy in our future?”

One way to answer that question is by supporting the Encampment as we celebrate our first 75 years and look to the next 75. We ask you to join us in the EFC’s living experience of democracy through engaging in our community.

We invite you to join us in one or more of the following:

“WHY THE EFC IS IMPORTANT TO ME”

Send pictures from your year, and anecdotes and testimonials about what it means to you to be an EFC alum (this can be written or oral). Fill out online (Google form that requires a Gmail address to upload photos) or send to admin@encampmentforcitizenship.org.

Send us your pictures to add to the 75th Anniversary Gallery!

Why is the EFC important to me? 

"I learned to value different members of the community and what they contributed to conversations and projects. We also explored different strategies to enact change. The EFC helped me to build confidence especially about issues that I’m passionate about and it helped me find my voice. It helped me become the person I am today and focus my activism efforts."

– Ayana Henry 2018-19 alum

EACH ONE FINDS ONE



Help us find EFC alums by reaching out to your fellow alums who may not be in touch with the EFC. Fill out online or send to admin@encampmentforcitizenship.org.

EFC COMMUNITY GATHERINGS BY DECADES



Join one of the May or June Zoom gatherings for your decade and the one closest to yours. You can share memories and brainstorm ways to share two-decade highlights at the 75th Anniversary Zoom Celebration. RSVP to admin@encampmentforcitizenship.org and be sure to mention your year and location!

SOCIAL JUSTICE IN ACTION ZOOM SERIES



Join a community forum on a social justice issue. See events below. RSVP to admin@encampmentforcitizenship.org to receive Zoom login iinformation.

Sunday May 23, 2021 (at 1 p.m. PT / 2p.m. MT/ 3 p.m. CT/ 4 p.m. ET) – The Other Strawberry Festival: Stories of People, Land, and Resistance, a virtual gathering about food system justice, hosted by the Pesticide-Free Soil Project, a program of the EFC.

Strawberry Festivals across the U.S. celebrate the berry industry, bring together communities and offer delicious strawberry-themed snacks. However, many conversations are missing from these events, such as the impact of pesticide use in conventional strawberry-growing on farmworkers’ and planetary health. The Other Strawberry Festival is a place for these conversations, featuring community leaders, growers, farmworkers and youth organizers who work to create change for a more-just and healthy food system for people and the planet. Join us to grow the conversation!                        

Young Artists and Poets: As part of the Other Strawberry Festival, we are calling on poets and artists 22 years of age and younger to submit works of poetry and visual art. Young poets and artists are asked to respond to either or both of these questions in their creative works: What are your or your family’s stories of food system injustice and resistance? What do you see when you imagine a future with a more just food system? Through this contest, we hope to raise visibility for stories of food system injustice and imagine new possibilities for a more-just food system. To enter the contest, visit the link below and submit your original work.

Winners will receive prizes from Patagonia, a financial sponsor of the Pesticide-Free Soil Project, and share their entries at the Other Strawberry Festival. The deadline for submissions is May 10.

Enter the contest »
Donate to the Pesticide-Free Soil Project.


July 23-24 – Ninth Annual InterGen — virtual in 2021! Join us at this intergenerational gathering as current Encampers share what they have learned in the summer intensive. SAVE THE DATE: Friday, July 23, and Saturday, July 24.

The Social Justice in Action Series is evolving! Look for announcements of upcoming forums.

CELEBRATE!



It’s the 75th anniversary of our founding! 75 years of empowering young people in fighting for social justice. 75 years and thousands of Encampers taking their experience of community and strengthening democracy from the grassroots up. Join us for an inspirational, creative and fun look at the last 75 years and support us to move into the next 75!

Join the 75th Anniversary Zoom Celebration on October 16, 2021 at 2 p.m. Pacific / 3 p.m. Mountain / 4 p.m. Central / 5 p.m. Eastern. Register here »

DONATE!

A donation to our 2021 Sponsorship Fund supports a young person's participation when her/his family cannot afford all or part of the fee.

Give to our $75,000 Sustainability Fund. We have set a goal of $75,000 for our 75th year. The fund will be allocated towards additional staffing, succession planning and a prudent reserve fund so that the Encampment will be here for another 75 years. (We’ll be sharing fun ways to do this soon, including an online ad book for honoring or remembering people who have inspired you).

MAKE THE EFC PART OF YOUR LEGACY

Join our Legacy Circle by putting the EFC in your will. (We'll be rolling this out in the next few months and can point you toward the best ways to do this — you can ask for more information by emailing admin@encampmentforcitizenship.org.)

facebookwordpressyou tubeinstagram

Donate!

Make a donation to our 2021 Sponsorship Fund and/or to our $75,000 Sustainability Fund.

Make the EFC Part of Your Legacy

Join our Legacy Circle by putting the EFC in your will. Email for more information.