Alum Stories

Catching up with A’Shaela Chaires, EFC 2015

Catching up with A’Shaela Chaires, EFC 2015

We recently caught up with alum A’Shaela Chaires, who told us about her exciting work at Microsoft. We also referred back to an interview she did with Marquise Steward in 2020, where she reflected on her EFC experience.

We the people?

We the people?

The most recent Encampers have added their voices. Add your voice today – by making a donation. You can also tell us what the EFC means to you in your donation note or by emailing. We are asking those of us who believe in the Encampment’s work to make a commitment to keep the EFC’s work available to today’s youth. 

Invest in the future of democracy

Invest in the future of democracy

You can make a difference in young activists’ lives. Giving to the Encampment shows that you care about democracy, economic inequality, racial, sexist, homophobic violence and environmental destruction.

Ada Deer, EFC 1956, Trailblazer

Ada Deer, EFC 1956, Trailblazer

Come join us in honoring Ada Deer and share your stories and photos about this unforgettable and inspiring woman. Sunday October 22, 10:00 AM Pacific/11 AM Mountain/ Noon Central/ 1:00 PM Eastern.

Update with Aaron Richardson, EFC 2014

Update with Aaron Richardson, EFC 2014

This summer, Aaron Richardson, 2014-15 Encamper and 2016 intern, is joining our Alum Outreach Committee. We asked Aaron to look back, now that he is nine years past his first Encampment, and share his thoughts about what was most important to him and what has stayed with him.

The Encampment Has Changed Me Entirely

The Encampment Has Changed Me Entirely

Encampments: 2015 Jackson, Mississippi; 2016 Amherst, Massachusetts; 2017 Intern, Amherst, Massachusetts
Residence at time of Encampment: Pine Ridge, SD
Lives in: Spearfish, SD

SNAPSHOTS

2020 Online Encampment

1966 DC with David Sandoval and Vivian Calderon and Congressman Roybal.

Videos from the 75th Anniversary

As part of our 75th Anniversary activities, alums from the 1940-present talked about their EFC experiences. Click links for:

75th Anniversary Celebration

Click image for our 75th Anniversary Celebration video (October 16, 2021).

 

Tell us your story

Would you like to be interviewed about your Encampment story? Use our contact form to send all the details on to us »

Alum Updates

click each to read

The Encampment has pushed me to reach my growing edge this summer.

… I performed an original piece on a stage, I hiked a mountain and I learned so much about cultures other than my own. I will continue to commit my voice to the Encampment and spread the word to everyone I know. I want more youth to have the same opportunity and experience that I did.

Shamia

2019 Encamper, Jackson, MS

We are strengthening democracy by creating community.